//
you're reading...
[Fruits for thoughts]

“Literary analysis” of Shoujo Manga? (1)

Trust me. The fact that I have “disappeared” from here for number of weeks (or months!) is not because I have forgotten to return for updates, but because I have been doing some “studying” and researching for the next post here, which is basically a “continuation” of my previous post re “literary quality” of shoujo manga.

Truth to be told, it was not an easy task I set for myself for I knew nothing about literature, or “what is literature” to be precise… hence why I decided to spend sometime away to research for answers for some of the fundamental questions, thus the outline of my analysis here:

1. Definition
– How to define literary quality? assuming a “literature” equates to literary quality, then what is a “literature” and what makes a “good literature” so to speak?

2. Manga Language
– Does shoujo* manga demonstrate characters of “literature”, as defined from 1?
– How is a message delivered in manga narratives? Investigate text and “language” used in narratives with examples?
(*note the word SHOUJO. I am refining the research on (VINTAGE) shoujo genre only to make my life easier as well as to complement the theme of my blog here : )

3. Manga as an aesthetic reading or efferent reading?
– Demonstration of aesthetic in shoujo manga (art and narrative) with examples?
– Shoujo manga style – Banana-mania or mono no aware?
– Aesthetic response to hope and healing in shoujo manga.

4. Manga from teachers/ librarians’ prospectives – bad influences? or good tools for (literature) study?

To be continued 🙂

====
…and why I am doing this (analysis)?

Well, for a long time I am convinced that I am an enthusiastic reader of shoujo manga, and keen enough to start my [Manga Talk], which basically I come in and blah what I PERSONALLY think and feel about those manga. Nonetheless, it was until recently that I was prompted to look at these manga again from a different prospective.

In the past, I would conveniently “defend” the hobby of reading shoujo manga by purely stating the difference of manga genres/contents hence readers’ objectives of reading, and vice versa. But now, I wonder if there is more to it, for instance the manga literary itself and reading practice in general, such that (some) manga can be “justified” and “properly” treated as another form of “literature”…?

I ponder.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: When a non-manga about shoujo manga is more interesting than a shoujo manga | [Manga Talk] - February 20, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow [Manga Talk] on WordPress.com

Copyright & Disclaimer

© 2000 [Manga Talk]. Please do not use contents without permission. Manga images mostly nicked from web (unless otherwise specified), all ©original creators.
