//
you're reading...
- Traditional, By manga groups, [MANGA TALK]

[Manga Talk] Traditional #1

I intend to change the format of my [Manga Talk] so that it will give short summaries of multiple series of similar “categories” (or genres) under one post instead. Albeit it will not be the priority anymore, I will still try to keep up with a more in-depth review (i.e. the one-post-per-series format) for any series which I perceive as profoundly “soul-stirring” and “meaningful” in terms of it being thought-provoking or carry “literary quality” so to speak.

As one may notice (and hopefully there IS someone noticing!), I am currently experimenting with some new formats here and there in my site, so please bear with me if my pages are looking utterly disorganised for now; any constructive feedback is always welcome here! : )

So move on to post #1 of my new [Manga Talk] series:

In my earlier post re. the categories of shoujo manga, I have come up with some traits (or “keywords”) to demonstrate what I named as the “Traditional” category:

  • Focus on shoujo romance and/or rom.com, with core theme of finding “the one”.
  • Dominated by 可愛さ (cuteness), pastel colours & “dreamy” style.
  • Contain strong elements of femininity and heavy focus on 王子様, aka “prince(s) charming”, and/or traits of “harlem” in shoujo manga.
  • Settings were often based on schools and/or families disputes.
  • Strong focus on character growth, typically led by a series of melodramas and then concluded with happy endings.

The four famous mangakas whom I have used to represent the “Traditional” were: Iragashi Yumico (Candy Candy), Yamato Waki (Haikara-san ga Toru), Ikeno Koi (Tokimeki Tonight) and Kamio Youko (Hana Yori Dango‎).

For those who like the “kawaiiness” of Candy Candy may also like:

Please click links for more information.

My say:

As I have pointed out before, UEHARA Kimiko’s earlier works would guarantee a full pack of melodramas from beginning to end. For some, that probably means you would not be bored of reading throughout a series. I confess, for a number of times, I did skip a couple chapters and fast forward my reading to the last volumes of tankoubons for the sake of saving time (and confusions with too many characters and melodramas…). I suppose it was also for the same reasons that I have my preferences in HARA Chieko’s (earlier) works – her stories and artworks were often simple and straight forward whilst still manage to retain as sweet and romantic…. Just so lovely! 🙂

But if you are seeking for absolute candyfloss-type of sweetness in artwork and romance, please don’t do what I did and stay-put reading the entire series instead! : )

I also have to be honest. Apart from nostaligic reasons, I really cannot see myself picking up any of the older series by HANABUSA Youko and OKUMURA Mariko in particular, simply because their works (namely Lady! and Hikari no Pansy) were too juvenile for me.

Having said that, Lady! and Hikari no Pansy were two fantastic series which I used to cry over reading them when I was little, as well as which I use to read to my niece these days as her favourite bedtime stories…..

As the saying goes, true classics do stand the test of time! (and boy! Isn’t my niece glad that I have managed to keep a copy of at least one series by each of the mangaka above!! : )

More in the next round of [Manga Talk] Traditional.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow [Manga Talk] on WordPress.com

Copyright & Disclaimer

© 2000 [Manga Talk]. Please do not use contents without permission. Manga images mostly nicked from web (unless otherwise specified), all ©original creators.
